top of page
Search
  • imankysah

See you soon Denmark

Updated: Nov 19, 2020

This Experience studying abroad in Denmark has been the most enriching experience of my life. I was fortunate enough to attend Copenhagen Business School (CBS), which has such a large exchange program each semester with 600+ international students taking part. For the first part of my study abroad, CBS really helped me settle into Denmark well through their orientation and social events planned for the exchange students. On top of this, I felt so welcomed by the CBS community and everyone in Denmark as a whole, as English is spoken almost fluently throughout the country, so I did not have the anxiety of trying to get around the city in a place that felt completely foreign to me. It's safe to say that early on in my study abroad, I already felt at home.

I would definitely study abroad again. I've completely fallen in love with Denmark and also enjoy the University's system of teaching. I plan on applying to do my Master's degree at CBS after I finish my bachelor's degree at the University of Hawaii. The master's degree at CBS is a 4-semester degree, wherein in the 3rd semester, I'm able to go on a study abroad. I'm already excited and planning to study abroad again in hopefully somewhere in South America like Chile or Argentina. I most definitely recommend that other students study abroad as well. The experience of it truly is unlike any other. We learn so much from attending school in a completely new environment, but on top of this, we also gain so much value for the world when we meet other International students from around the world. I've truly made life long friends who I can call my family after this exchange.

It's definitely hard to say when the education system will go back to normal after the Corona Virus. I hope soon. Regardless, I still had the most amazing experience on my exchange even though most of the exchange students left and in-person school ended not even halfway through my exchange. The Corona Virus in fact made me value Denmark so much more and allowed me to discover all the natural and unnatural wonders that the country has to offer. None of this I would have discovered if lockdown had not happened, as I would have been too busy traveling out of Denmark, looking for an adventure outside without valuing what was inside the country I was living in.

There are a few things to keep in mind when you go on an exchange.Here are my top 10 helpful suggestions to keep in mind:

  1. Don't be shy. Everyone on exchange especially is on the same boat as you, and are extremely willing to build new connections. You don't realize how strong friendships you can make in such a short period of time.

  2. Do travel outside of the country and explore other places on the continent you're living in

  3. Do your research on the country you're planning on going to exchange in.

  4. Step outside of your comfort zone and try new things: whether it be food, trying to learn a new language, or meeting new friends, this is the time to do it.

  5. Budget, Denmark especially can be extremely pricey when it comes to eating out.

  6. Go to class. In many schools, classes aren't mandatory, but the lecturers and exercise classes will prepare you well for the final exam.

  7. Make the most of every moment, you don't realize how fast time goes by, and you want to miss out on as little as possible.

  8. Before taking the exams, make sure to read up on the exam format requirements. CBS deducts points for not following the formal requirements

  9. Do get a bike in Copenhagen. It's a lot cheaper to get around on a bike than to pay for public transportation.

  10. Do sign up for the buddy program in CBS. It's the best way to build connections with local students.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page